Turning tacos into breakfast

I could probably eat tacos every single day of my life, so obviously I needed to find a way to incorporate them into breakfast. There is always the breakfast burrito, but I wanted something a little more breakfastie than a burrito, plus the egg always seems to overwhelm the flavor of the other components. I remembered a hash I had made with some leftover corned beef from St. Patties day and decided to give it a go with the taco meat. Now keep in mind this taco meat I’m talking about isn’t your typical ground beef with taco seasoning. I get my taco meat from a carniceria above the International District. It’s flank steak that they marinade in their own blend of spices and seasonings. (I’ll post a link to their yelp profile below). It makes great leftovers, and a great breakfast! The pictures are a tad random and off, I was playing with a new camera app I got on my phone… not as cool as I thought it’d be… it’ll be better next time!

Carne Asada Hash (serves 4)

Ingredients:
2 TBS. olive oil
1 lb. left over (cooked) carne asada, cut into strips
5 large red/yellow potatoes, cut into 1 inch pieces
1 bell pepper, coarsely chopped
1/2 a medium white onion, coarsely chopped
1/2 cup salsa, reserve 1/4 cup for garnish ***See note below on salsa
1/2 cup loosely packed cilantro
1 avocado for garnish
salt
pepper
4 eggs (optional for fried egg)

Directions
1. Bring a large pot of salted water to boil. Boil potatoes until fork tender, drain and cool.
2. In a large non-stick skillet, heat the olive oil to medium/medium high heat
3. Add the onions and the peppers, saute for 2 minutes
4. Add the left over taco  meat and the salsa. Saute until just heated through, about 2 minutes.
5.  Add the potatoes to the skillet. Sprinkle mixture with salt and pepper. Mix thoroughly.
6. Press down on the potatoes with a large spatula. This will create a good crust on the bottom.
7. Let the mixture cook in the skillet for 5 minutes. Resist the urge to peek, you won’t regret it.
8. Flip the mixture over and cook an additional 5 minutes
9. Divide mixture into 4 even portions and plate. Garnish with cilantro, avocado and a fried egg (optional)

Not only is it pretty, it’s simple and delicious!

The carniceria I frequent is called Carniceria Azteca. Don’t forget to ask for the meat marinated!

***Note on salsa – any jarred salsa will do, but I prefer to make my own.  I use Rick Bayless’ roasted tomatillo and chipotle roasted tomatillo salsa recipes. I usually add a bit more garlic to both, omit the onion in both and add extra cilantro to the roasted tomatillo salsa.

4 thoughts on “Turning tacos into breakfast

  1. Pingback: Oops – I made something low calorie by mistake! « gutsycompass

  2. Pingback: A Quick Breakfast « gutsycompass

  3. Pingback: A Quick Breakfast « gutsycompass

  4. Pingback: Pineapple “Pico de Gallo” | GutsyCompass

Leave a Reply

