Recipe Nostalgia

I was going through my giant file folder of recipes last night in an attempt to organize them in some sort of practical way. I’ve had the same file folder for my recipes since I got my very first issue of cooking light back in college – so there is about 10 years worth of tear outs from various magazines, scraps of paper with recipes scribbled on them and internet printouts from NY times recipe section. Funny how time can change what you tear out. For instance, back in 2004 when I was just learning to cook on my own, I seemed to really enjoy Asian noodle salads. Back then, I would have needed a recipe for something like that – but these days, I’m more likely to look at those recipes for inspiration rather than directions. The simplest things (marinara sauce, chicken picatta, pot roast) all would have required me to look at recipes for instructions… I guess we all grow up and our tastes and skills evolve.

There will always be those recipes that you remember and can just make anywhere anytime (whether it be because they were your favorite or simply because you’ve just made them a lot). Mine are typically family recipes (and also favorites) but also a few because my friends or family have requested them so much, I’ve just memorized the recipe.

One of my all time favorites is my Great Aunt Louis’ potato chip cookies. There were a staple at any family gathering and will be a favorite in yours as well.

Aunt Louis’ Potato Chip Cookies:

Ingredients:

1 c. butter
1/2 c. sugar
2 c. flour
2 tsp. vanilla
3/4 c. crushed potato chips

Directions:

Mix all ingredients. Roll into small balls; flatten with bottom of glass dipped in sugar. Bake at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

