My Impromptu lunch…

This blog entry was written by a good friend and co-worker of mine, Christina Grob!  

What to do with a bunch of leftovers?  Last night I had chicken & quinoa for dinner and had lots left over, so decided I’ll try something new.  I’ve always been really suspicious of quinoa – I mean, what the heck is it?  It smells kinda funky in its raw state, but once it starts cooking, has a nice nutty smell and is surprisingly tasty.  I’m also really weird about textures, but this passed my texture test.  And, it’s super good for you (check out this article http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?dbid=142&tname=foodspice).  I’m not a huge fan of reheated chicken (or reheated meat of any kind), so I’m forever trying to make cold chicken taste more interesting. This is what I came up with!

Lime and Cilantro Chicken Quinoa Salad (serves 1)

1 cooked chicken breast, cubed
1/2 yellow bell pepper, chopped
1/2 – 3/4 C cold quinoa, already prepared (I cooked mine in chicken broth instead of water)
1/8 C cilantro, chopped
1 wedge of lime

I mixed the first 4 ingredients together, then squeezed the lime on top.  It was GREAT!  The cilantro and lime gave it such a fresh flavor that I actually enjoyed my leftovers more than the original dinner last night.  Next time, I’ll try with a red pepper just to make it a little more colorful!

Leave a Reply

