I love tomatoes!

Yep, I do. Probably more than Mexican food which is saying a lot. Tomatoes are finally starting to ripen in most of our gardens (I ate my first ripe one today). It reminded me of all of my favorite tomato recipes, call it tomato nostalgia if you will.  Our summer came so late here in Seattle that you can still find amazing tomatoes at the farmers markets and local organic heirlooms in the grocery store… score for me!

I have included links/recipes for some of my favorite tomato recipes. Enjoy!

Slow roasted tomatoes from Kalyn’s kitchen
Roasted tomato sauce from Champaign Taste
Tomatoes Provencal from Amy Cotler
Tomato and goat cheese tarts from Ina Garten
Panzanella from Ina Garten
Basic Marinara Sauce from Smitten Kitchen

Tomatoes with Basil and Mozzarella:

Ingredients

A few large heirloom tomatoes (or beefsteak if you can’t get heirlooms) sliced
As many basil leaves as you have tomato slices (sliced into ribbons if you’d like)
Fresh mozzarella cheese, sliced (as many slices as you have tomato slices)
Olive oil
Balsamic Vinegar
Salt
Pepper

Directions:

Place tomatoes in a single layer on a platter, cover with a slice of mozzarella and the basil. Add a splash of olive oil over all tomatoes and a drop of vinegar on each tomato. Finish with a dash of salt and pepper.

6 thoughts on “I love tomatoes!

Leave a Reply

