What a gourmet looking pizza

This is what my mother said to me the first time I made this pizza. It certainly does look gourmet, but fortunately is not at all hard to put together in a hurry. This dish was actually inspired by my sister (who is a brilliant baker btw) who always has greatest pizza topping ideas.

Her original pizza used sausage instead of the pancetta, but I was too lazy to crumble the sausage so I used pancetta instead. This pizza has an olive oil base and uses dollops of goat cheese instead of blanketing the entire pizza with mozzarella. I would like to think it’s healthier than other pizza’s but the fact that I brown the onions in the pancetta fat makes me think otherwise. I did on this pizza opt for a whole wheat crust (and to be honest, I liked it better than the normal crust we use) from Trader Joe’s. This pizza is a little more grown-up than your classic pepperoni, and would be perfect for a quick weeknight dinner or even a fancier dinner with friends. Serve with a tossed green salad and you’re good to go.

Goat cheese and pancetta pizza

Ingredients:
1  package prepared pizza dough (such as trader joe’s)
3 Tbs. olive oil
5 oz. package plain goat cheese
6 oz. package pancetta
1 medium white onion, sliced
1 bottle pickled cherry peppers (fire roasted peppers work well here too), sliced into chunks
1 tsp. salt
1 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes

Directions:
1. Pre – heat oven to 450.
2. Heat small skillet to medium heat. Cook pancetta until crisp reserving 1 1/2-2 Tbs. of the oil. Remove pancetta and place on a paper towel to soak up the extra grease.
3. Return skillet (with oil) to the heat and add onions. Reduce heat to medium low and slowly caramelize the onions.
4. Once the onions and pancetta are cooked, roll out your pizza dough on a floured surface.
5. Brush the entire crust with olive oil and evenly sprinkle with salt and pepper flakes.

6. Evenly distribute the pancetta, onions and peppers
7. Spoon the goat cheese into pieces and drop dollops evenly across the pizza


8. Bake for 12-14 minutes, or until crust is golden brown.

5 thoughts on “What a gourmet looking pizza

  1. So delicious! I love this blog Megs! Those making this pizza should also try it with smoked salmon… it is to die for :).

    Love you!

  2. Oh wow – my family is going to faint when I make this for them at Christmas time. Last year I made a pesto, sundried tomato, and chicken pizza that was a hit – but this is going to be even better!!

Leave a Reply

