Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

It’s that time of year when strawberries are starting to pop up again at farmers markets and my parents backyard is full of rhubarb. My dad loves rhubarb, like I think he might have an unhealthy obsession with it. I think he’s even tried to pickle it before… not joking. Anyway last weekend I invited myself over for dinner and volunteered to bring a pie knowing full well I could raid their ever growing patch of rhubarb. Earlier that morning I scored a flat of freshly picked strawberries from the farmers market, so clearly a strawberry rhubarb pie was going to happen.

We make a lot of pie in our family and ever since I can remember my mom would make little toppings for our pies out of left over dough. Usually they would be a pretty leaf or flower (shes quite artistic) and ever since then it’s been a tradition in my family to top the pies with various shapes with the left over dough. There has been everything from “mom” spelled out for mothers day, to last weekends creation – the Strawberry Rhubarb Dinosaur Pie (decorations courtesy of my sister, and yes that is a dino breaking out of it’s egg.)

Even my little furry friends were around to help… well more to just get a chance at a falling strawberry or two.

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie (adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

Ingredients:
Pie crust of your choice (I use Krusteaz)
3 cups sliced strawberries
3 cups diced rhubarb
1/2 cup white sugar
1/4 brown sugar
1 1/2 Tbs. lemon juice (use less if you prefer a sweeter pie)
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 cup quick cooking tapioca

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. On a well-floured counter, roll half of pie dough into a 12-inch circle and carefully transfer to a 9-inch pie plate. (My moms trick for rolling dough is to lightly flour a piece of waxed paper and then roll the dough out on that. The dough can then be easily peeled off the paper.)
2. Stir together rhubarb, strawberries, sugars, lemon, salt and tapioca in a large bowl. Mound filling inside bottom pie crust

3. Roll out the second half of pie dough into an 11-inch circle
4. Place the second half over the top of the mound of fruit. Trim top and bottom pie dough so that their overhang is roughly 1/4-1/2 inch over the edge of the pie pan then crimp the edges
5. Cut a few slits on the top to allow venting and decorate with fun shapes using leftover dough (if you see fit)

6. Transfer pie to a baking sheet (or directly onto rack with a sheet of foil underneath to catch juice overflow
7. Bake for 20 minutes then reduce temperature to 350 degrees and bake for an additional 25 to 30 minutes, until the pie is golden and the juices bubble visibly.
8. Transfer pie to  rack to cool. Let it cool a few hours (I might have skipped this step which is why mine is so runny…)

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

  1. I have never made anything with rhubarb but I think you could have just changed my mind. Love strawberries, love rhubarb & that pie looks terrific. Good thing you had some help making it although why didn’t you go with dog cutouts instead of dino’s?

Leave a Reply

